The jury for 2017 Rijksstudio International Award announced

July 19 2016 - 4:24 PM

The Jury of design experts for the 2017 Rijksstudio Award, celebrating free digital access to the Rijksmuseum’s extraordinary collection of over a quarter of a million works, is announced today.

The Rijksstudio Award invites the public to get inspired by works in the Rijksmuseum’s collection, downloading and using images of works or details of work in a creative way. Anyone can enter the competition and every interpretation is allowed – design, fine art, applied art, fashion, photography, and video. The top prize of €10,000 will be announced at the Rijksmuseum on 21 April 2017.

The Jury is chaired by Taco Dibbits, Director of the Rijksmuseum, and includes Irma Boom, Irma Boom Office; Tony Chambers, Editor-in-Chief, Wallpaper; Thomas Widdershoven, Creative Director, Design Academy, Eindhoven; and Ute Thon, chief copy editor, ART- Das Kunstmagazin.

As part of the competition programme, the Rijksmuseum will host a series of Rijksstudio design events internationally to engage with creative communities in key cities. They are:

  • 13 September: BlogFabrik, Berlin
  • 15 September: Second Home, London
  • 28 September: MoMA, New York
  • 14 October: Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam

The Rijksstudio Award, launched in 2014, placing the Rijksmuseum firmly in a leading position in the world of digital image culture and open design, takes place bi-annually as of this year. Past winning projects have ranged widely, including an original make-up line inspired by the colour palettes in five women’s portraits from the Museum’s collection by Asnate Bockis and Rogier Arents, a wallpaper collection by Ottoline de Vries, a Delft blue hat by Josh Moll, the Rembrandt Book Bracelet by Lyske Gais and Lia Duinker, and a set of specially created and labelled Rijksmuseum Preserves, designed by Alexandra Schijf and Birgitta van Langeveld.

The competition opens on 13 September 2016 and the closing date for entries is 15 January 2017. For more information:

Rijksstudio and the Rijksstudio Award are made possible by the BankGiro Loterij and the Rijksstudio Fonds / Rijksmuseum Fonds