This art object is not yet available digitally

18 plates, each decorated with a Netherlandish province, anonymous, 1822

porcelain (material), d 22.1cm More details

These plates reflect the period when the Netherlands and Belgium together formed the United Kingdom of the Netherlands (1815-1830). The kingdom consisted of 17 provinces plus the grand duchy of Luxembourg. The gold decoration is in the Neoclassical style. On the upper edge are the arms of each province in gold on the blue border; the arms of the United Kingdom are on the lower side. Today the Netherlands consists of 12 provinces.